Meeting Report

Following are the minutes of the 2017 ASM annual business meeting:



American Society of Missiology

Annual Business Meeting of the Society

Saturday, June 17, 2017, Wheaton College, Illinois


The meeting was called to order by President Paul Kollman at 4:07 PM with a prayer.

The proposed agenda was accepted without modifications.

The minutes of the 2016 annual business meeting were accepted as circulated.


Secretary's Report

Allan Effa reported that this year's conference attendance was 300, with 130 first time attendees. The society's current membership stands at 299.

We have had significant upgrades to our website, making it mobile friendly and including social media interface. Now we need to develop content that can be shared widely through these media. A blog feature has been started and other plans are underway. An automated password retrieval feature is being tested and should be implemented very soon. We have 640 followers on our Facebook page and over 1,300 on our Mailchimp list serve. Allan invited members to donate old photos and mementos of past gatherings for our archival collection.


Treasurer's Report

Robbie Danielson joined us by skype and commented on the auditors' and treasurer's report that were circulated. Robbie reported that the board of directors has approved a plan to invest $100,000 of our savings. Charles Fensham asked whether ASM could offer a grant to APM to help their executive members meet sometime between the annual meetings for the sake of planning. This will be passed on to the Board of Directors for their consideration.

MSC that we accept the report.


Publication Board Report

Bill Gregory reported on our four publications managed by the board. Bill reported that the contract between Missiology and Sage has been renewed for five years. The Scholarly Monograph series celebrated its 10 year anniversary. There continues to be a high level of interest in this. The Working Papers series continues to be developed and is being accessed all over the world.  The ASM Book Series is adding several volumes in the coming year. Bill issued an appeal for people to offer their skills and time to help develop missiological content for our website. Phil Huber is seeking to develop a missional blog focused on preaching from the lectionary and is looking for people to participate.


President's Report

Paul expressed appreciation to the Board of Publications and Board of Directors and offered special thanks to Allison Fitchett Climenhaga for her work with the Conference organization. Allison is sending out a survey to all conference attendees.

Paul shared some of the challenges of finding a site for future ASM meetings. The Board has decided to contract with St. Mary's College on the campus of University of Notre Dame for June 14-17, 2018 and June 13-16, 2019.


Nominating Committee Report

Sarita Gallagher presented the slate of nominees.

President - Bonnie Sue Lewis

First Vice President - Al Tizon

Second Vice-President - Arun Jones

Past President - Paul Kollman


ASM Board Members

Class of 2020

vanThan Nguyen (Roman Catholic), Leanne Dzubinski (Independent) Joon-sik Park (Conciliar)


Board of Publications Members

Class of 2020

Robert Hurteau (RC), Roberta King (I), Benjamin Hartley (C)

Replacement members due to resignations: Aaron Wessman (RC), Jamie Sanchez (I), Phil Huber (C)


Moved seconded and carried to elect this slate of officers.


New President's Report

Bonnie Sue Lewis reported on the theme for next year's conference which will focus on Interfaith Friendships as Incarnational Mission Practice.



Steve Bevans announced that March 8-13 the Commission on World Mission and Evangelism of the WCC will hold its conference in Arusha, Tanzania. The theme is "Moving in the Spirit: Called to Transforming Discipleship."

Gordon Doss announced that on Saturday, November 11 the Midwest Mission Studies Fellowship will meet at Andrews University. The theme is "Mission in an Era of Migrants and Refugees."

Daryl Ireland announced that the Eastern Fellowship of Professors of Mission will be celebrating its 100th anniversary at Maryknoll on October 27-28.

Mike Gable invited everyone to San Antonio Texas, October 27-29 to the gathering of the US Catholic Mission Association.


Meeting adjourned at 5:01 PM


Respectfully submitted:

Allan Effa, secretary


Authorized for Distribution:

Bonnie Sue Lewis, President

Al Tizon, 1st Vice President




American Society of Missiology

Annual Business Meeting of the Society

Saturday, June 18, 2016, University of Northwestern, St. Paul


The meeting was called to order by President Greg Leffel at 4:18 PM

The proposed agenda was accepted without modifications.

The minutes of 2015 were approved without modification.

Secretary’s Report – Allan talked about some of the web site upgrades that were done and the effort to fix the problem with online access to Missiology through the ASM portal. He reported that the conference attendance was 198 in 2015 and 194 in 2016 (but this number may still be higher). Membership stats:

2013 = 371

2014 = 401

2015 = 252

2016 = 241 (but may still go higher after data from this year’s conference is entered)

The management of our ListServe is being improved to ensure that all members receive the Call for Papers and information about the annual meetings.

Treasurer’s Report – Robbie distributed a report and the auditor’s report and emphasized that our financial condition is healthy. 

Board of Publications Report – Bill Gregory reviewed the four publications managed by the Board: Working Papers, Scholarly Monographs, Book Series and Missiology. A representative gave a brief overview of the focus of each of these.

President’s Report – Greg Leffel made mention of the excellent support we received from the conference staffing of UNWSP. Greg informed the members of some of the challenges with renewing our contract with UNWSP and that we have signed a contract to hold our meetings at Wheaton College in 2017, with the possibility of also holding meetings there in 2018. A search committee has been struck to determine a future location.

Elections – George Hunsberger, chair of the nominating committee presented the election ballot.  All of those on the table below were voted in unanimously:


President: Paul Kollman (Roman Catholic)

First Vice President: Bonnie Sue Lewis (Conciliar)

Second Vice President: Al Tizon (Independent)

Secretary: Allan Effa (currently serving a three year term – 2018)

Treasurer: Robert Danielson (Three year term – 2019)


Board of Directors

Class of 2019: 

Hunter Farrell (Conciliar Protestant), Mike Haasl (Roman Catholic), Ruth Padilla DeBoerst (Independent)


Board of Publications

Frances Adeney (Conciliar Protestant), Bill Burrows (Roman Catholic), Jamie Ross (Independent)


Future Meeting Dates:

June 15-18, 2017 Wheaton College

June 14-17, 2018 Wheaton College (?)

June 13-16, 2019 Location to be determined


Charles Fensham offered a motion of thanks for the work of the board this past year. This produced an enthusiastic applause.



The 2017 annual meeting will be chaired by our new president, Paul Kollman. The proposed theme is “Missiology’s Dialogue Partners: Practitioners and Scholars Conversing about the Future of Mission.” 

The IAMS assembly will meet August 11-17 in Seoul, S. Korea.

The annual meeting for the Midwest Mission Studies Fellowship is November 5, 2016 at Notre Dame.

The annual meeting for the Eastern Fellowship of the ASM will be October 20 – 21, 2016 at Maryknoll Sisters, Ossining, NY.


Paul Kollman, our incoming president, expressed thanks to Greg Leffel for his leadership and adjourned our meeting at 5:15 PM.


Respectfully submitted:

Allan Effa

Allan Effa, secretary


Authorized for Distribution:

Greg Leffel

Greg Leffel, President

Paul V. Kollman, CSC

Paul Kollman, 1st Vice President